Show Boat steams to success

October 2016

Show Boat, supported by Bruno Wang Productions, has won three awards including Best Musical Production, Best Supporting Performance for Rebecca Trehearn, and Best Design for Lez Brotherston at the prestigious UK Theatre Awards 2016 which were presented earlier this week.

The production, which transferred to the New London Theatre following its run at Sheffield Theatre, was directed by Daniel Evans, as a Sheffield Theatres Production, and won jointly with Flowers for Mrs Harris – also a Sheffield Theatres Production directed by Evans, beating Half a Sixpence directed by Rachel Kavanaugh, a Chichester Festival Theatre and Cameron Mackintosh production.

Also honoured at the ceremony was Sir Ian McKellen, who collected the award for Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre in recognition of his tireless work both in championing diversity and for his commitment to theatre, including touring productions, across the country. Sir Ian can currently be seen in No Man’s Land at the Wyndham’s Theatre alongside Sir Patrick Stewart.

Vanessa Redgrave was the recipient of this year’s Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts. Vanessa won an Olivier award in 1984 for her performance in The Aspen Papers.

The ceremony was compered by Olivier Award winner Lesley Manville with presenters including School Of Rock star Preeya Kalidas and Drew McOnie who is set to choreograph and direct The Wild Party when St. James Theatre reopens as The Other Palace.
The UK Theatre Awards are the only awards to honour outstanding achievement in performing, producing and management in theatres throughout the United Kingdom.

Fiona Allan, President of UK Theatre, said: “The UK Theatre Awards celebrate the world class theatre that is performed on stages across the country and demonstrates the breadth and depth of outstanding talent. It is also important that we recognise the venues and the teams that run them. As centres of artistic and creative excellence, our local theatres are a vital part of all our communities.”